A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

Mahatma Gandhi : The Gandhi Peace Award


The Gandhi Peace Award is marked by a significant medallion and a certificate with an inscription summing up the work for peace of a distinguished citizen of the world. The medallion features the profile of Mohandas K. Gandhi, with his words “Love Ever Suffers/Never Revenges Itself” cast in bronze. The recipient’s name is added to a weighty carved statue of the Mahatma. The Award is presented at a ceremony held approximately once a year, at which a distinguished peacemaker is recognized and given the opportunity to present a message of challenge and hope. It is to be awarded “for contributions made in the promotion of international peace and good will.”

00 The Award has always been presented in person to each recipient.

Like all of the perennial activities of Promoting Enduring Peace (PEP), the Gandhi Peace Award was conceived by the organization’s founder, Dr. Jerome Davis, in the early nineteen fifties. At the Board of Director’s meeting on March 13, 1959, he formally proposed that a yearly award be given to persons outstanding in their work for world peace.


A famous New York sculptor, Don Benaron/Katz, was commissioned to create a work of art to serve as the symbol of the Award. He researched Gandhi at the library of the India House in New York City and by 1960 had carved a striking portrait of the founder of the century’s international movement for nonviolent change. He wrote, “I carved the Gujarati word for peace on one side, and on the other a symbolic plowshare and pruning hook inspired by Isaiah 2:4…”

They shall beat their swords into plowshares

and their spears into pruning hooks;

nation shall not lift up sword against nation,

neither shall they learn war any more.

Excerpted from

Peace Heroes: The Gandhi Peace Awards

ฉ 2002-2010 by James Clement van Pelt.



Past Recipients of the Gandhi Peace Award


Eleanor Roosevelt

The Rev. Dr. Edwin T. Dahlberg

Rabbi Maurice Eisendrath

The Rev. John Haynes Holmes

Dr. Linus C. Pauling

James Paul Warburg

Dr. E. Stanley Jones

A.J. Muste

Norman Thomas

Jerome Davis

The Rev. William Sloane Coffin, Jr.

Dr. Benjamin Spock

Senator Wayne Morse

Dr. Willard Uphaus

U Thant

Dorothy Day

Dr. Daniel Ellsberg

Peter Benenson and

Petretti Ennais

Prof. Roland Bainton

Dr. Helen Caldicott

Dr. Corliss Lamont

Randall Watson Forsberg

Robert Jay Lifton

Dr. Kay Camp

Dr. Bernard Lown

Prof. John Somerville

Cesar Chavez

Marian Wright Edelman

Senator George McGovern

Ramsey Clark

The Rev. Lucius Walker, Jr.

Father Roy Bourgeois

Edith Ballantyne

Alan Wright and Paula Kline

Howard and Alice Frazier

Michael True and NEPSA

Dennis Kucinich

Karen Jacob & David Cortright


READ MORE : The Source of this content



Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>